April Poem

Rauschenberg Monogram

Monogram

 

I cannot escape the desert

or a sly sense that I am stuck halfway,

like an ill-used clapper in a

worn out leper’s bell,

bleating a tone meant

to warn, or curse, or clear

a path through the wilderness.

 

Of course I’m tired,

encircled by the sins of

a whole nation, white-walled

onto my back,

a lime-washed sepulchre standing foursquare

upon a field of grays.

 

Initially my voice was pure –

Daaa Daaa, Daa Daa, Da Da.

But now I am a singular weight,

straddling the Alpha and Omega,

even as I wait to hear you chant

in flat-brushed whispers

my father’s name.

 

Monogram

Robert Rauschenberg, 1955-59

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

